Date and time:
June 10 at 2pm (PDT) / 5pm (EDT) / 11pm (CET) / June 11 at 6am (JST)
Live Stream: Zoom Webinar (https://zoom.us/j/92027360979)
Live questions and discussion: Slido (https://app.sli.do/event/gd5hbafa)

Speaker: Teddy Tzanetos
Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), Pasadena, California

Moderator: Kazuya Yoshida
Tohoku University, Sandai, Japan

Title: Flying on Mars

Abstract:
On April 19, 2021, NASA made history with the deployment on Mars of Ingenuity, the first powered aircraft conceived by humans to fly on another planet. With four flights to date – from its initial brief foray at three meters elevation to its longer subsequent flights covering up to a football field’s distance at velocities of about two meters per second -- Ingenuity has opened a new world to planetary flight and discovery.  In this colloquium, Teddy Tzanetos, JPL’s assembly, test, operations lead, and ground support designer will present the project’s inception, its operational goals and capabilities, and what its success may mean for space exploration.

 


Teddy Tzanetos (Speaker Bio)

Theodore Tzanetos Graduated from MIT with a B.S. in computer science and engineering in 2012, and a masters in engineering in 2013. He worked at MITLL, a NYC-based startup, as the head of Technology for the Drone Racing League, where he managed a team of developers and engineers to build drone-race infrastructure, embedded avionics, and an online FPV simulator played by tens of thousands of users worldwide. He served as senior software engineer at Samsung Research of America. Tzanetos has been with JPL since 2017, working on Tango-on-Racing Quadcopters(ToRQ), the ATHENA rover, and has served as a principal investigator for Mars Science Helicopter SRTD. He is the tactical lead for cruise and surface operations of the Mars helicopter Ingenuity.